Certification programs offered by PMI  

PMI currently offers five certifications, with others in development:

  • Project Management Professional (PMP®)

  • Program Management Professional (PgMP®)

  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®)

  • PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP®)

  • PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP®)

For more information on these certifications, the requirements to sit the examinations, and the examination costs, please go to the Certification page of the PMI global website.


What is the advantage of being certified?

PMI designations following your name tell current and potential employers that you have a solid foundation of project management knowledge that can be readily applied in the workplace. Furthermore, the global marketplace considers more and more the PMP® status as the profession's premier project management credential.


Do I need to be PMI member to get certified?

There is no need to be a PMI member to be eligible for a certification. Anybody who meets the educational and experience requirements and who agrees to adhere to the code of professional conduct is eligible. The price of the certification examinations is nevertheless not the same for members and non-members.


How do I sit the examination?

Examinations must be taken at an approved test centre. To find a test centre, search on Prometric's page.



Training for PMI certifications is provided by a Registered Education Provider (REP).

An REP is an organization approved by PMI to issue professional development units (PDUs) for its training courses.

You can find an REP on PMI's Provider Search page.


Further information

For further information, please visit the PMI global website.